Thursday, December 12, 2013

Sneak Peek at the entire Vol 7 Sketchbook!

Check out a thumbnail preview of the entire Big Dog's Studio vol 7 Sketchbook - exclusively at our Facebook page!

https://www.facebook.com/BigDogsStudio1

APPEARANCE: DEC 15th at the Charlotte Comicon


The sketchbooks are in and they're ready for the Charlotte Comicon! The first run is limited to 40 copies and include the Charlotte Comicon logo on the cover to commemorate the debut. If you're in the Charlotte area on Sunday, DEC 15th swing by the Crowne Plaza Executive Park Hotel between 10am - 4pm and pick up your copy! Brandon, Stan and Herc will be on site drawing and signing copies all day - hope to see you there!
For those not able to make it but still interested in getting your own copy, head over to our Big Cartel store:
http://bigdogsstudio.bigcartel.com/ - you can get singles, sets and even custom sketched versions of all our sketchbooks!

Friday, December 6, 2013

BDS Sketchbook vol 7 is a go!

Here's a sneak peek at the new cover! We're debuting these at this month's Charlotte Comicon. A limited supply of Charlotte Comicon branded copies will be available only at the show...be sure to stop by and pick up your copy!
Artists Stan Ford, Herc Petmezas and Brandon Padgett will be on hand sketching & signing copies.

#charlottecomicon #bigdogsstudio

Friday, November 22, 2013

I did this Rule 63 Jet-Pack Jenny (Jet-Pack Jimmy?) as an incentive reward for the Kickstarter contributions from publishing Factor of 01. It was done with gray brush pens first and then worked with Prismacolor markers. I really like how it came out even after a bit of a color mix-up when I colored it in some bad orange light at Sketch Charlotte's regular meeting place. That's part of the reason that I don't work with color at Sketch Charlotte.

Saturday, October 12, 2013

Volume 7 cover WIP

Sneak peek at a WIP for the cover for @bigdogsstudio vol 7 sketchbook - COMING SOON!!! 



Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Cover Spoof

It's been a little while since I posted, but I've been busy finishing up the larger, full-color incentive drawings but wanted to finally share this incentive drawing that I did for Brandon Padgett. It's a spoof of Mechanics #1 by Xaime Hernandez. There's things that I would've done differently had I done this larger, but all in all, I'm happy with it.

Drawing with Gray Markers

I've been trying out my Grey brush pens, both warm and cool gray variations, so when I was doing an incentive drawing for Henry Eudy, I did this version based on a Vargas or Petty Girl drawing, and played around with the combination of the two. I screwed up and didn't have the blowing curtains wrapping around the chair, and I think that I didn't quite get the shadows right.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Friday, September 13, 2013

Dawnstar

D is for Dawnstar of the Legion of Super-Heroes. I've always preferred her without a headband. I find it hard to believe that after all this time, I still don’t have a set way to draw feathers.

Thursday, September 5, 2013

You really like us! (well at least 100 of you do!)

We just crossed the 100 "likes" goal over at our facebook page! And to celebrate we gave away five free custom sketched sketchbooks. Who knows when or what our next contest will be so head over and give us a like!

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

DC Hates Girls


This is one of my favorites of the new Alphababes I've done recently.

Initially for R, I drew Raven (from the Teen Titans), but misplaced it on my fireplace mantle. I'm glad that the character got some popularity from the Teen Titans cartoon, but having seen the "New 52" Raven, I just have to face palm.

She was such a good path and had some fans who really liked her, why such a strong redesign? Oh yeah, DC hates girls.

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Alf: before & after (kinda)

I was messing around with a blue line sketch of Alf for my son. Added some ink on Saturday morning. He liked it alright, but his immediate response? "Alf is brown...why did you draw him black?" Gotta love three year old honesty!

Friday, August 23, 2013

The Amazing Spider-colors

AMAZING coloring by Rico Renzi on my Black Suit Spidey sketch from tonight’s @sketchcharlotte meeting!

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Big Dog's Studio Facebook page is live!

Head over and check it out! (PLEASE!)


I'm hoping to do a daily feature on the art that has appeared in our sketchbooks...one from each artist, rotating daily.  I'm also hoping to feature facebook pages and regular websites of some of our friends and the people that inspire us to do what we do.

I'm still kicking the tires, so please overlook any shortcomings.  But any and all tips, tricks, advice and other feedback are ALWAYS appreciated!  You can gmail me here: BigDogsStudio.

Thanks and hope to see you here and over on the facebook page!

Brandon/Big Dog

ps - Volume 7 of the sketchbook will be coming your way soon!

Thursday, August 8, 2013

Sketch Covers!


Thinking about offering some Sketch Cover Commissions. Gmail me if you're interested (BigDogsStudio)…

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Charlotte Comicon

Had a great time this past weekend with Stan, Herc and Bridgit at Charlotte Comicon's Summer Show! Thanks to everyone who came by the table, it was really good to see so many familiar faces!  Can't wait to do it again in a few months!

Saturday, August 3, 2013

Charlotte Comicon - Sunday, August 4

I'll be set up drawing on-site commissions ($10 custom chibis & minions and head sketches) plus I'll have prints & sketchbooks and both of the Sketch Charlotte Anthologies with me! 
And while you're there don't forget to check out my talented friends: Eraklis PetmezasStan FordBridgit ScheideMatt StarnesBradd Parton, Chrissie Zullo, John Hairston Jr, and tons more! Hope to see you guys there!
Here's a few examples (that were on my phone) of what I'll be drawing:




Catching up!

Just downloaded the blogger app for my iphone, so I'm hoping that will translate into more posts! (Lucky you right?)
Here's a Despicable Me purple minion-Venom mash up from this past week's Sketch Charlotte...

Thursday, May 2, 2013

The Factor of 01 is back from the printer!

Today my books arrived from the printer, and I'm extremely pleased with the quality. They'll be shipping out to the Kickstarter backers over the next few days, complete with incentives, with the exception of the two backers that get the big color drawings, those will ship separately. I'm also going to do a little redesigning to the sidebar to properly advertise the book. If you didn't contribute to the Kickstarter and want a book, then you can order it through Paypal by just clicking the link below, or if you're in Charlotte, cornering me at a Sketch Charlotte meeting, since I'll always be carrying a couple with me.


Here's some previews of the book so you can see how it looks.

$10.00 + $3.50 shipping!
If you're outside the US and want to order a book, just let me know!

 

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Now Available for pre-order: Jet-Pack Jenny and the Factor of 01!

It's finally off to the printer, and physical copies will be sent out towards the end of April, along with their respective incentive rewards, which I'm finishing up now.

The book is something I'm very pleased with an Introduction by my fellow Sketch Charlotte member, Eraklis Petmezas, the entire Factor of 01 story in a beautiful 8" x 7 1/4" format, anotations of every page giving some of the backstory behind the process of telling the story and creating the art, and 5 pages of Guest Art by friends, Eraklis, Brandon Padgett, Joel Carroll, Henry Eudy, Collette Ardith, and Jonathan Rosenbaum. Since it's in the works at the printer, I'm offering it for pre-order for those of you that want to get the book as soon as it's available. Pre-orders will get a free digital copy in PDF format on a CD-ROM with a special sketch on the CD sleeve! (Kickstarter contributors will also get this special bonus!)

Here's some previews of the book so you can see how it looks.

$10.00 + $3.50 shipping!
If you're outside the US and want to order a book, just let me know!

Friday, March 15, 2013

AlphaBabes launches!

A is for Aurora

In the tradition of AlphaBots, AlphaBooks, AlphaBeasts and Animal Alphabet, I decided I wanted to do something to get myself to draw, but I wanted to pick something that I wanted to draw, so I combined my interest in drawing women and a love for comics to do AlphaBabes.

Everyone is welcome to submit anytime that they want to, but I'm starting this week with A, which is first represented by Aurora of Alpha Flight. There'll be another drawing for A because my love for drawing comic book women is large enough for two a week sometimes.

I'm trying to do all of these with grey brushpens so like this one, they'll all be shaded, just to make them a little more interesting.

Friday, January 4, 2013

Jet-Pack Jenny

Our buddy and partner-in-crime Stan Ford has a Kickstarter for his creation: Jet-Pack Jenny and he'd asked a few of us to sumbit art for a pinup section. 

This was my contribution...

You can see more of Jet-Pack Jenny and Stan's other work here: http://carpaltunnelpress.blogspot.com/